Two Methods For Saving A New Account Login To Your Bitwarden Vault
Method #1 – Manual entry before account creation.
- Start by going to the website where you intend to create an account.
- Open the Bitwarden extension and click the + icon in the top right, then choose Login.
> Note: This step lets Bitwarden capture the new account’s web address. - You can edit the Item name field to have a meaningful name.
- If you use folders, choose an appropriate one.
- In the username field, type in a username or email address, or use the username generator to create one for you (click the circular arrows icon to launch).
- In the password field, use the password generator to create a strong password (click the circular arrows icon to launch). Most websites will tell you what’s required for a password on their site, and you should make sure the settings in the password generator match.
- Hit Save in the upper right to save the login to your vault!
Now, go through the website’s account creation process.
When it asks for the username or password, you can simply autofill the credentials you already saved by clicking the item in the extension or using the Ctrl/CMD + Shift + L hotkey.
- For other settings you might want to change, see the section: Other attributes you might want to edit.
Bitwarden 101: User Walkthrough – 6 videos
Again, I do not recommend this method
- Start by initiating the account creation process for the website you plan to create a new account for.
Make sure you use a strong password! You can use the Bitwarden password generator to create a strong password and copy it to your clipboard by opening the extension and clicking Generator, or by using the hotkey Ctrl/CMD + Shift + 9.
- Hit the final submit button for your new account; Bitwarden will display a banner across the top of your browser asking if you want to save the login.
- Choose a destination folder from the dropdown in the bar if you wish.
- Then you can choose either Save or Edit.
- If you select Save, you’re done! Bitwarden will remember the login for you the next time you visit.
- If you select Edit, a new tab will open with the selected username and password filled in, allowing you to make changes before saving.
I do not recommend this method